Turning blanks "sanded-smooth" with only a skew?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jrista

In recent threads, I've heard a couple of people saying that you can turn a pen sanded-smooth, without actually sanding, with the RIGHT skew technique. I know John (@jttheclockman) shared some photos of his work demonstrating how good this can be.

The one tool, I am not good with, is the skew. I've tried a few times. I have two...a Carter and Sons skew with a radius, which I've had an easier time with, and a skew with a strait edge at...well, not sure exactly the angle, 30 degrees? I read one post recently that mentioned how you grind the skew matters a lot in terms of its grabbiness. My radiused, I've not used a ton, and haven't sharpened it yet, so its still basically got that flatish surface on each side. The other skew, I have sharpened a couple times, and it now has a curvature. Its definitely grabby!

I'm curious about a couple of things:

1. How do you sharpen your skews effectively, to keep the flat edge, but still get them extremely sharp? (I don't have the sorby sharpening system, and ATM can't afford it...I do have two CBN wheels, with...hmm, maybe a quarter inch thick flat edge... I've been thinking about getting a higher grit CBN wheel, though, with a much larger flat surface on its sides, that might do the trick?)
  2. What is your technique for actually using a skew, to turn a blank, without the need to sand it?