Here's my failure

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Stevej72

This is my first attempt at a snake skin. I guess the guy that tanned the skins used Glycerin (I think) and I forgot to remove it before casting. So the PR didn't stick to the skin. Also the PR didn't get as hard as it should have, I assume from the glycerin mixing with it. Where the PR Is missing on the left of the picture is where I pealed some off. I have another one in the pot now, hopefully it will turn out better.

2007722174159_DSC00543.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stevers

Thats' a shame Steve. Good learning experience for all us newbies tho. I had a failure with cactus as well. Pulled a vacuum and pulled out a bunch of air bubbles. Mesquiteman stepped up and explained the error of my ways. It has been nice that so many of us are doing this at this specific time. Lots of good info floating around.

And have you noticed there are three Steve's involved in this??? Pretty cool.

Thumbs

Stevej72, how do you remove the glycerin? How do you recognize it on the tanned skin or is it obvious when it is present on the tanned skins?[?]

Darley

Originally posted by Stevej72
<br />This is my first attempt at a snake skin. I guess the guy that tanned the skins used Glycerin (I think) and I forgot to remove it before casting. So the PR didn't stick to the skin. Also the PR didn't get as hard as it should have, I assume from the glycerin mixing with it. Where the PR Is missing on the left of the picture is where I pealed some off. I have another one in the pot now, hopefully it will turn out better.

2007722174159_DSC00543.jpg

Glycerin?? never heard about any one using glycerine for snake skin but I might be wrong for the procedure in the States, maybe Don may shime in to tell us about this glycerin matter. What did you use for the tube plug when casting?? could you explain your casting process??