First peppermill?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from sbwertz

sbwertz

I want to make a peppermill for my DIL. Any suggestions for which kit to use? I am a relative beginner (been turning a year, now) and am comfortable drilling on the lathe. I just don't know what the differences are among the various mechanisims and designs.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenMan1

Sharon:
The mechanisms that Exotic Blanks sell are German made, are a good quality, and the shaft can be cut to make a mill anywhere from 4 inches all the way up to 10 inches from the same parts.

These grinders are much better quality that the ones I bought "someplace else".

PenMan1

I really like this "adjustable" set because you fit the mechanism EXACTLY to your blank, You do NOT have to make the mill conform to the mechanism.

sbwertz

This is why this forum is absolutely invaluable. I would have just ordered something from PSI or CSUSA. Now I know. I'll order today

KenV

More tools Sharon -- you will need forstner bits

1 1/16 and 1 5/8 are normal sizes at the bottom with 1 inch for the barrel size being common.

Carbide is good as are the colt brand bits --

There are some neat design opportunities for the shape -- I look forward to seeing you end product.

witz1976

Sharon:
The mechanisms that Exotic Blanks sell are German made, are a good quality, and the shaft can be cut to make a mill anywhere from 4 inches all the way up to 10 inches from the same parts.

These grinders are much better quality that the ones I bought "someplace else".

Andy I am 99% certain that the mechanisms are USA made...not German.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
That is correct, sorry Andy, they are made in Pennsylvania, by Chef Specialties. I have a letter from their president confirming actual manufacturing, not just labeling parts.

Now, our refills.................................are made by Schmidt, in Germany!!!

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Sharon,