Transtint dye and wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Woodchipper

I have a bottle of the blue dye. What woods take it best? Worst to dye? Thanks. Don't want to waste wood and time dyeing something that would look like a disaster.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sly Dog

I have limited experience with TT dyes but I made a blue and orange pen using TT dyes on maple - which does not always take stain evenly - cutting the dye about 50/50 with DNA and applying several coats to blend and darken until I was happy. There is a guy on YouTube - Paul Smith - that demonstrates the application of blue and black on a pen which I found helpful when I dyed this pen. I've attached a pic. Disaster? Well, maybe. šŸ˜…. But I thought the blue part turned out well. Have fun! Russ
1CA18525-6875-4D47-9845-E8802F830BFE.jpeg

Woodchipper

Never thought of blending. My complements. What is the pen kit? Unique. I realize that grain would dictate the absorption of the dye so there wouldn't be consistency on the blank. Only way to get even colors is with solid acrylic or other synthetic materials.

Sly Dog

The kit is a Zen gold. Yeah, how much you want to see or hide the grain is another consideration, and you can vary the dye solution as you wish. I once dyed an Asian Satinwood blank with pure TT black (no dilution) just to see what it would look like (the pen had already gone wrong in a number of ways). The dye hid the most attractive features of the wood - those little eyes - somewhat inconsistently, but I will say it was black alright. That was indeed a disaster!

Woodchipper

FWIW, I did a maple blank with a Sharpie as an experiment. Looked like crap! I soaked a coffee filter with DNA and tried to wipe it off. Looked good, IMHO. Photo attached. Did another yesterday and the colors were different due to grain density of the two parts for a Slimline.
20180926_144717.jpg

Woodchipper