PSI casting kit

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ryankelley

I am new to pen turning and was looking through the PSI catalog. Is this kit any good, do I new a press. or vac pot? what are your opinions on this kit?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rdunn12

Well,it is ok.It is 39.95+shipping.You could go to U.S. Composites and get a gallon of Silmar 41 for 34.50 and the pigment sampler pack for 35.00 (I have it,plenty of colors) and find some Tupperware for molds or make some from cutting boards.I believe there is a post about that.You would have a lot more resin to play with.If you are not planning on embedding anything,just doing simple casts,you do not need a pressure pot.Casting is a lot of fun.You will be out of that 32oz can in no time.The link will take you to the website I mentioned.
http://www.uscomposites.com/polyesters.html

mrcook4570

The PSI kit is good to see if casting is something you want to do without dropping too much money. You can also go to Michael's or other similar hobby store and find casting supplies priced about the same as PSI. If you find that you like casting, then definitely buy it by the gallon.

Nick

Well,it is ok.It is 39.95+shipping.You could go to U.S. Composites and get a gallon of Silmar 41 for 34.50 and the pigment sampler pack for 35.00 (I have it,plenty of colors) and find some Tupperware for molds or make some from cutting boards.I believe there is a post about that.You would have a lot more resin to play with.If you are not planning on embedding anything,just doing simple casts,you do not need a pressure pot.Casting is a lot of fun.You will be out of that 32oz can in no time.The link will take you to the website I mentioned.
http://www.uscomposites.com/polyesters.html

Ronald, or anyone, what method do you use to assemble the "cutting board" molds?

its_virgil