Newbie Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RGVPens

OK...this sounds dumb, but here goes.
I'm brand new to turning, obviously, and just got a Turncrafter Commander 10VS. I stuck a 40 watt bulb in the light...nothing. I wasn't real sure about the bulb as it, and others, were here when we moved in a month ago. Today I was at WalMart and picked up a new 40 Watt LED bulb...still nothing. It looks like it's wired directly to the control box via yellow cable you plug together when plugging in the other wires at setup. I don't see a switch and "assume" it comes on when you power the lathe up via switch. Everything else works fine, on-off, speed varying.

???? Anyone got an idea?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Curly

A dumb response perhaps but from the poor pictures on the PSI site it looks like there is a little knob on the end of the lampshade. Any chance it turns on the bulb when pressed or turned?

Mr Vic

Silly question: did you turn the knob on the back of the lamp shade. The little black one. Should turn clockwise.

Curly beat me to it.

monophoto

I have a 12" Turncrafter.

I see from your previous post that you just got your lathe. Mine dates back to 2012; there has been a change in the way power is supplied from the control box to the worklight - I replaced the control box on mine recently, and had to rewire the light. But I don't know if this change has found its way into new lathes.

First, the basics: When you plug in the lathe and flip the main switch on the front of the control box), does the lathe spin? If so, then the problem is isolated to the light. If the lathe does not start, try pressing the reset button.