MT1 to M2 converter or other way around?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cenogene

I have my 20 year old reliable MT1 Lathe Carba-Tec III from PennStateIndustries. I recently procured a new MT2 Nova Comet II. I want to use the old one as a polishing station but can't wrap my brain around this. The old lathe has an MT1 headstock. The mandrel on the acrylic buffer is an MT2. I thought I simply needed to buy an MT1 to MT2 converter. Or should I be looking at an MT2 to MT1 converter? I'm a returning newbie with pen turning and got my head all a spinning (pun intended) trying to figure this out. Your knowledge and assistance is appreciated. ☺️

Attachments

• 20210922_102645.jpg
    20210922_102645.jpg
    293.3 KB · Views: 97
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

MT1 is smaller than MT2. So if you have an MT2 headstock (female) then you can use MT1 tooling (male) using a sleeve that has an MT2 male end and MT1 female. If your headstock is MT1 then to my knowledge there is no easy way to use MT2 tooling. Its easy to make the taper on the headstock smaller, but difficult to make it bigger, if that makes sense...

magpens

You want to fit the MT2 mandrel to a lathe with an MT1 headstock . . . right ?

I don't think there is any way to do that by just buying an adapter. . ( the other way around, YES, but not the way you want to go ).

EDIT: . I think that Sam (just above) and I are saying the same thing here.

rherrell

In order to use a 2mt tool in a 1mt machine you'll need a 1mt-2mt EXTENSION. If you were putting a 1mt tool into a 2mt machine you could use an ADAPTER. Since a 2mt is LARGER than a 1mt an adapter won't fit in the 1mt socket. Here's a link to what I'm talking about...

MiteyF