Jointer help....Update!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

opfoto

Hello everyone,

I have a Woodmaster 6 inch jointer that is a Shopsmith copy. I want to mount a motor on it and put it on a stand. I am not very motor savy at all and I am looking for help in the RPM/HP/pully size depts. I am in no hurry to complete this now but with an eye toward the near future. I only have 110v available. I have a HF close by so I can look there. I appreciate all the help. Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

beamer

The pulley sizes and RPM of the motor will need to be such that the spinning cutterhead rotates at the right speed. Surf around for jointer specs to get an idea of what the cutter head RPM should be - most instruction manuals will tell you this. Then size your motor in about the 1hp to 2hp range - most are 3650rpm but you will also find 1725 is very common as well. The pulley sizes you use will be determined by the final RPM you're after - for example:

Cutterhead Speed: 5500rpm
Motor speed: 3650rpm

That would be roughly a 2:3 ratio, so any pulley combinations that yield one pulley that is .66363... times larger than the other should give you the right ratio. Your horsepower rating will become important here if the ratios are such that you loose most of your power just making it go fast.

If you had a 1725rpm motor instead, that puts you at more like 1:3 (.313636...) and you'd need more horsepower to overcome the resistance of the wood meeting blades in this case because going up in speed will reduce your power at the cutter head. It moves faster, but can't power through the thick stuff.

How's that for clear as mud?!

tas2181

Most jointer / planer blades rotate at about 10,000 rpm so you have to size your pulleys accordingly as Beamer stated previously.
I would use a 1 1/2 to 2 horse motor, which is about as large as you can get in a 110 motor.

Tom

Rudy Vey