How Much IS Too Much

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

crafttx

I have been experimenting with a unique resin however it is very costly. My question is "how much is too much to pay for a blank?" OK, these are not your typical poly blanks as they are much easier to turn being not as brittle and for those of you wearing Transition eyeglass lenses will darken outdoors in the sunlight. Any big spenders looking for pens/pencils?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

crafttx

I am not a salesman of blanks. I have been turning pens for the better part of five years as a hobby and at the request of people looking for different gifts. In my paying career, I have been a salesman and am currently sales director. I came across samples of this resin, decided to cast a few blanks and love the results however to actually purchase it the cost is unbelievable. I have not figured what the cost per blank would be but it will be high to make them.

winpooh498

Well, the price would depend on the material. Without pictures of the blanks I don't think anyone could say how much they were worth. But I am confused are you trying to sell blanks to us?

crafttx

I am not trying to sell blanks just looking for some feedback as to whether or not it makes since to produce them. I have turned a couple and given them away to people that introduced the resin to me. If I can find time over the next few days I have one to turn and will take pictures. I also hope to determine on Monday what I am looking at for cost.

leehljp

Member Liaison
"How much is too much?" is a relative question.

$2.00 to $6.00 for good to VERY good blanks.

$8.00 - $10.00 for GREAT wood and synthetic design.