Hello from Southern California

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

InetKen

I didn't realize pen turning existed until I ran across an article about an Etsy seller. I think I'm hooked :biggrin:

I've been doing a lot of research on tools, materials, etc., this board has been a great resource. Even purchased a book on pen turning from Amazon. I plan to fund my initial equipment purchases through ebay sales, so I've been gathering a lot of "stuff" and putting it on ebay already.

By trade I'm a Network Analyst, which is a fancy way of saying I'm a paid computer geek, at a University. But, I've also worked in a family sheet metal shop and cut concrete for a living.

As soon as I get close to funding, I've considered blogging about my adventures (hopefully good adventures) in pen turning.

I have to say I've seen some amazing artists and pens here. I hope I can gain a fraction of the talent that is here.

Ken

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

johnnycnc

Welcome aboard, Ken!
After you get going, you'll find out what "hooked" is really about!:biggrin:
Hope you get up and going soon..it is a really great hobby for a lot of us.

John

ThomJ

Greetings from the Green Mtn State......................."is there A 12 STEP PROGRAM FOR PEN TURNERS"?

ossaguy

Hi Ken,

Welcome from a fellow penturner from SoCal.I just started about a year ago,and it sure is a fun hobby.

When you put your pens on your blog,be sure to post here so we can see.

Have fun,Ken!

Steve

MrPukaShell

Welcome Ken,

Where in So Cal are you? I am up in the Ventura County area. Let me know when you get ready to start and we can meet up for some tips & tricks if you want.

Have a great day,

InetKen

Where in So Cal are you? I am up in the Ventura County area. Let me know when you get ready to start and we can meet up for some tips & tricks if you want.

You are a ways from me. I'm in Downey, in L.A. County. I found out there is a Rockler store near me and they are having a pen turning demo next month.