Hello from Midlothian, Texas

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DMGill

I've been a s-a-h mom and housewife for 26 years. Once the kids were out of school and moving out (that seems to be a looong drawn out process), it was time to develop my own hobbies and activities. I started doing decorative painting with acrylics. Love that!

At the same time, my husband started furnishing/upgrading his woodshop. He bought a Delta lathe at the wood show in Mesquite last year. I started playing around with it, liked it, and bought a penmaking kit at Rockler. I'm hooked! Now I spend more time (and money) in his woodshop than he does!

I found IAP while searching for penmaking supplies. What a wealth of information! I already learned a whole lot and look forward to learning much more.

:star:Donna:star:
Midlothian, TX

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

t001xa22

Welcome, Donna, from Arlington, TX. You are right: this craft is so addictive and satisfying. I by far give away and gift more pens than I ever try to sell. Congratulations on your choice of lathes; it is a good brand. I also recently found out about IAP and joined. It was one of the best things I have done. The information available and the folks that participate here are the best.

Welcome Donna from Southern California!

I am new here as well. Your introduction to the site is similar to mine in that I was searching the web for different pen kits and came across this site. I was up all night just reading the different post and articles in the library. There is much to learn and a lot of people here to help you along the way. I just started turning pens back in December and I am totally hooked. I hope you enjoy the site.

glennw

A huge Welcome aboard from Waycross, Georgia. I have been turning for some time and I still feel like a newbie Donna. Always remember to post pics of your work. These guys are a wealth of knowledge as you already know. And have some of the best products you can buy.

ctubbs