Fuel pump...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AceMrFixIt

I hope the fuel pump on my truck is the problem cause its a PITA to change it. Its my first time and its in the gas tank. Hardest part so far is getting the gas tank out...........hope it goes back in easier.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbostian

Good luck. I have done 3 fuel pumps so far. The last one was on a Pontiac Fiero. That was a fun job. I have found on the fuel pumps I have done they actually went back together pretty well.

Jamie

EBorraga

Passed Away July 17, 2022
In Memoriam
Depending on the truck, it might be easier to take the bed off, espescially if it's a Ford Ranger.

AceMrFixIt

F-150, took a few hours to get the tank off, 5 min to change the pump.......what goof ball came up with that design? If ever again the bed is coming off. Started putting the tank backi on and the rain shut me down. Tomorrow........

EBorraga

In Memoriam
I should of seen this earlier, as I could of warned you. Ford's are much easier to take the bed off. That one bolt that is upside down is a Bi#$h with the bed still on.

sdemars

Don't chunk it . ..

Don't chunk it . . . the old fuel pump that is . . . make sure there is not a rash of fuel pump failures in your area . .

Call a few independent shops and the local dealership service departments . . . .

If there are a lot of failures in the area, they may make it good for you . . .

It won't take the dealers but a few "warranty" jobs before they jump on it . . .

My first claims job was working "BAD GAS" claims caused by bad gas from SHELL . . . .

Steve

Gregf

The pump in my 98 F150 stranded me on the way home from work a few weeks ago.
Had it towed to a dealer.
Talk about a BOHIC moment.
$500 for the pump and $500 labor.

chiefgreen