WORKING STONE

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from PaulDoug

PaulDoug

Missed my lathe while I was sipping wine at the ocean so I got busy this morning and started on my shaving set. This is what I have done so far on the soap holder. This is Soapstone. I have to make a jam chuck now so I can work on the bottom. I have the Knot to make the brush and the razor blank. I'm a little concerned how well the Knot will stay epoxied in the brush handle. I don't know if epoxy and soapstone work well together.

Not a fancy turn, but I'm new at this stone stuff so I'm going simple.

Attachments

• 400_1630.jpg
    400_1630.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 252
  • 400_1635.jpg
    400_1635.jpg
    19.3 KB · Views: 284
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jgrden

Neat soap holder Paul! I sure will be looking forward to seeing the set.
Me too. I hesitate doing things that are a little different, but get over that feeling very quickly - unless it is too costly to repair. What's my point - I dunno.

fernhills

Hi, Very interested in how it all works out for you. Also on how the soapstone turns.
I have been experimenting on how wood holds up on various shaving tools with out a finish for the last six months

cozee

That looks sweet! I recently was given a nice slab of soap stone about 1 1¼" thick and am curious as to how you went about turning your soap holder.

THarvey

Missed my lathe while I was sipping wine at the ocean so I got busy this morning and started on my shaving set. This is what I have done so far on the soap holder. This is Soapstone. I have to make a jam chuck now so I can work on the bottom. I have the Knot to make the brush and the razor blank. I'm a little concerned how well the Knot will stay epoxied in the brush handle. I don't know if epoxy and soapstone work well together.
Not a fancy turn, but I'm new at this stone stuff so I'm going simple.

Paul,

Great looking soap cup.