This Was A First (for me)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jcm71

I recently took advantage of PSI's 20% off sale and ordered $600 plus worth of pen kits. Total discount came to about $125. Imagine my surprise when I hit the next button, they added about $50 in sales tax. I have been buying from PSI off and on for over ten years, and this is the first time they have charged me sales tax. I guess PSI and Tennessee reached a deal. I am licensed as a small business in Tennessee and do charge my customers sales tax, which I remit to the state monthly, which means TN will get a double dip on the materials I use that have been purchased from PSI. i looked to see if I could set up my PSI account as a business. No such feature exists that I could find.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Canoeroller

All states having been changing their nexus laws so they can collect sales tax from online sellers. It would be worth the effort to see if you can talk to someone at Penn State to see if they would be able to set you up as a reseller. I would surprised if they do not.

MRDucks2

Didn't used to have to pay sales tax on line in Indiana unless the business was in Indiana. The new legislation is that if a company does $300,000 or more of business it must collect Indiana sales tax.

In my edit I changed the word "charge" to "collect". As we have tried a few shows this year I found out that legally, in Indiana, the seller cannot "pay" the sales tax for the buyer. The buyer is legally required to pay all sales tax and the seller is actually prohibited from paying it for the buyer. As such, sales in which tax is not specifically added to the purchase price have to show, in the end, that a 7% discount was given and sales tax was actually "collected" from the buyer. Otherwise you are technically breaking the law.

Last edited:

EricRN

Most likely the sales tax was for PA, not TN.... more and more states are charging sales tax for online orders.