The Next Generation of Pen Makers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Racer3770

Hey everyone!

I am a teacher at an Independent STEM school in southwest Ohio. At the end of every year, teachers create a new course called "STEMmersion". This course is a 10-day immersive experience for students in grades 6-11 and is the highlight of everyone's school year. This year, I am creating a pen making course to introduce 25 new pen makers to one of the coolest hobbies on Earth! Students will be creating 3 different types of pens, practicing lathe safety, resin casting their own blanks, learning how to fill, use, and clean their own fountain pen, and more!

To make this happen, I need a few things:

1st​: I would love to hear your experiences and advice on teaching students how to make a pen. I plan to have five operational lathes and enough equipment for each. I am an experienced turner and I have the basic safety tips down and plan to teach/test every student. Anything I should look out for or pay special attention to?

2nd​: I need quite a few items in order to get the program off the ground and make it sustainable. I'll make a list of the items below:

• Blanks (wood)
  • Blanks (acrylic)
  • Slimline Pen Kits (any plating)
  • Slimline Pen Bushings
  • Sandpaper
  • Fountain Pen Ink (opened, or unopened)
  • Fountain Pen Friendly Paper
  • 7mm Drill Bits
  • 3/8 Drill Bits
  • 27/64 Drill Bits
  • Turning Tools (gouges and skews mostly)
  • Pen Press
  • Pen Mandrels 2MT
  • Mandrel Saver 2MT
  • Jacob's Drill Chucks 2MT
  • Casting Supplies (alumilite dyes, mica powders, stir sticks, etc…)
I just thought I'd reach out and see if anyone had supplies laying around taking up space. I have a little bit of a budget for this special project, but plan to provide the difference from my own supplies if I need to. If you have any of these items and are willing to donate, here is the address for the school:

ATTN: James Smith
Dayton Regional STEM School
1724 Woodman Dr.