Single-Blank Pen Kit Recommendations?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Misfit74

So I'm new to turning pens and have some slimline kits which are fine but my question is this:

What are some inexpensive pen kits that use a single blank?

I'm going to cast some hybrid and resin blanks, use some figured woods, etc., and would like to make larger pens than the Slimlines I started with in my penmaking journey.

I'd like to keep it fairly cost effective and simple. Adding a special drill bit is no big deal but I don't want anything too crazy here. Thanks in advance..

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

@Misfit74

May I recommend that you first consider the Sierra Twist and Sierra Click pen kits ..... single barrel.

Having said that .... there are other kits of similar size and construction ..... the Wall Street II , the Gatsby, etc.,

There are also some others of probably cheaper price ..... there is a Zephyr, a "Thank You" pen, etc., of similar shape size and slightly different hardware patterning.

It will take you a while to become familiar . . . there are a host of possibilities. . Look at various vendor websites and compare their offerings to the Sierra style pen kits which have as their primary source the Berea Hardwoods company . . . bereahardwoods . com . . . . but are also sold by other vendors.

One website you MUST become familar with, if you are not already is . . . . ExoticBlanks . com . . . . - - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Source for all things related to pen making . . . pen kits, pen blanks, and everything else that pen makers need, including outstanding personal service !!!! šŸ˜

Last edited:

sorcerertd

Of the ones Mal mentioned, the Gatsby is the PSI version of those sierra style kits. Both those and the executive kits (also PSI) have a bead where the metal meets the blank that is somewhat forgiving of slight over or under turning of the barrel. I think the executives deserve some credit for great beginner pens.

jttheclockman