Seeking Opinions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

The start of a couple ambriosia maple boxes. Nature of the wood is worm holes. I could fill them with black CA or leave them natural. As a woodworker, I like the natural wormholes, not sure what the buying public like. I'm sure some would see them as flaws. What do you all think? To fill or not to fill, that is the question. Not that it matters but these will be ribbon boxes.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

howsitwork

Fill with black epoxy / dust then the public see the drama but don't worry about live worms being in there

KenB259

Forgot the picture.

Attachments

• IMG_4071.jpeg
    IMG_4071.jpeg
    410.7 KB · Views: 107

jttheclockman

Fill them is my opinion. Black or a dark brown. Going to look good. Did you put a finish on the others. Hope you return back to that thread. seeing these has started my brain shutting down on pens for awhile after I get this patch of blanks done and turning my attention to boxes of different types. Have a couple ideas that will take some thought but should be good gifts or sellers.

KenB259

Fill them is my opinion. Black or a dark brown. Going to look good. Did you put a finish on the others. Hope you return back to that thread. seeing these has started my brain shutting down on pens for awhile after I get this patch of blanks done and turning my attention to boxes of different types. Have a couple ideas that will take some thought but should be good gifts or sellers.
John, I had a serious design flaws in the previous ones. I had to go back to the drawing board and figure out a better, more repeatable method. These will be the first with the new method. At least I didn't ruin the "ribbons". I'll post them when done. Good thing the person that wanted them didn't need them by Christmas.

jttheclockman