Pen disassembly

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RussBerg

I have been turning pens for about four years. To disassemble a pen I have always used a punch set. Now that I am turning Majestic level pens I have fount a punch set won't disassemble them. I have decided to invest in a disassembler and would like to know which one I should buy.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

Possibly etch with ferric chloride? I haven't done it, but looks like you could spray paint the cap, use a laser to cut the design, etch, and then remove paint.

Kenny Durrant

I agree with Carl. The Penn State Press is one of the best investments I've made. When I used the punch set and a hammer I was bending nibs and ruining the plastic threads in rollerball caps. I still use the punch set but I use the press instead of the hammer. I have yet to ruin a pen part while using it. Since it also assembles pens there's only a need for the one tool.

mnerland

I made a lot of pens, with a bench vise for assembly, and punches and a hammer for disassembly. A few years ago, I got the pennstate press. Felt like a fool for not doing it sooner. Highly recommend: https://www.pennstateind.com/store/PENPRESSXL.html
I will 2nd this! I too, did the vice press for awhile. This is a great tool to have for assembly and disassembly. There is a built in notch also, so you don't ruin your clips on disassembly. Just wish I could figure a way to disassemble a click pen with the plastic mechanism.

Jans husband

I will 2nd this! I too, did the vice press for awhile. This is a great tool to have for assembly and disassembly. There is a built in notch also, so you don't ruin your clips on disassembly. Just wish I could figure a way to disassemble a click pen with the plastic mechanism.
I have disassembled a click pen like this.

Unscrew the button at the end of the finial.
That allows the spring for the mechanism to fall out, and also the more flexible parts of the click assembly.