Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Tailstock

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rtjw

That is the hardest thing about pen turning. Some instructions tell you to have it on the headstock some on the tailstock. Have lost more than one pen that way.

leehljp

Member Liaison
GREAT INFORMATON! I haven't got that far yet to know the diffference. I have been doing it on the tailstock end but am not too far into the habit that I can't change the orientation image in my mind.

opfoto

Ok... So I am backwards.
Nib end always toward the headstock.....

Help me understand the difference... I am still new at this... I just started to make sure the long tube for the cigar goes toward the motor. The SL's didn't matter to me. But I always did the nib end closest to the headstock as well. My instructions were pictured with the nib end to my left.

Maybe its the Left side (brain) fighting with the right side. I hate when that happens.

Daniel

Headstock, this is just how I pictured it when I first started and have alwyas stayed with that. plus the tapers tht I generally do seem easier for me with the cap at the head stock.

I try to remember to go by the kit instructions BUT. I did a few DEsigners the other day and followed them until I compared my box elder and I had installed the blanks wrong. Would not notice (at least no one commented on it from the pics) unless it is set along side other Designers, like in a pen case.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Tip to the motor end (headstock), therefore clip is on tail stock. Why? The headstock end will always turn true. So, the pen will always have a perfectly round cut above the pen nib. This is the place users will be touching, so any out of round (oval) will be most obvious.