Old and New - a few pen pics to get started

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from juteck

juteck

After a few posts and an introduction, I took some pictures this weekend of some of my pens.

This slimline is birdseye maple, although I took the wrong view and you really can't see the birdseyes. I've been using this pen almost daily for the past 5 years. The original finish was probably tung oil. It has developed a nice patina from handling over the years.

http://www.penturners.org/forum/../photos/index.php?n=8296
2_birdseye-maple.jpg

This was my first and only aluminum pen so far. I started off trying to give it a shiny appearance, but didn't like the fingerprint magnet it was, so gave it more of a brushed appearance. I enjoyed turning this - it will likely not be my last aluminum, if/when I get more aluminum stock.

2_aluminum.jpg

Black & white ebony on a black chrome slimline. Very nice wood to turn - cuts very smooth. Finish on this is wipe on polyurethane.

2_black-white_ebony.jpg

Blackwood on a 7mm platinum roundtop from CSU. Can't see it on this photo, but I learned on this pen that CA used to glue the centerband onto the tenon is a good way to screw up your existing finish. Wipe on poly finish on this one, with a glossy smear of CA right around the center band.

2_blackwood-euro.jpg

0.7mm click pencil using double-dyted box elder burl. This one really has a plasticy look to it, more so than most other stabilized burls I've turned.

2_double-dyed_pencil.jpg

Madrone and cocobolo. This one is around 5 yrs old, so I'm guessing the finish is tung oil.

2_madrone-cocobolo.jpg

Zebrawood slimline. Finish is wipe on poly.

2_zebrawood.jpg