New subscriber from deep East Texas.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tomhooper

I have just found this forum. I am very new to the whole pen-turning thing. I have never done it or even have any equipment yet. I like the idea and being semi-retired I think it is something I will enjoy. Look forward to learning a lot from all of you experts.

While I will probably start out with some purchased blanks, I see myself doing my own blanks. I own a lot of land (2000+ acres) of which a large part has been in my family for 7 generations. We have some very old growth trees of many species. I think I would enjoy making pens and pencils from the wood of some of these trees. Several of which are well in excess of 100 years.

I would appreciate any advice as to starter kits, equipment, etc, that I should purchase.

Glad to be here and look forward to hearing from everyone.

Hoop

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

renowb

Welcome Tom! I'm an East Texan, born and bred! If you chop down them 100 year old trees, don't forget about us!:)

tomhooper

Probably won't be cutting down too many of them. I do have several large oaks probably at least 100 years that were killed in a fire a few years ago. They are still standing so I may take one or more of them down. When I do, I'll gladly share the wealth.

Thanks for the welcome. I need to go out and just take stock of what I have. I had some pine timber cut back about 5 years ago and they did cut numerous fairly large cedar trees. They are still down. I may go check and see if the wood is any good. If it is, would anyone be interested in some? Shipping charges should be very low and I'll give you the wood for free.

JeffT

Hoop,