New shop electrical ideas

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Just some food for thought because you're gonna do what you want to do anyways... Don't go cheap with the electrical. Consider having new service run and a standalone meter. It gives you options later and if you should ever sell it, the new owner may appreciate it. I looked at places that I walked away from because the shop was tied into the house. Limited the equipment options way way too much. Also... If you're not an electrician by trade, seriously consider hiring one. Your time is better spent elsewhere and a couple grand to ensure things are done right is money well spent. As someone mentioned, should something go wrong and you did it yourself your insurance may take issue with the unpermitted work.

Admittedly I've spent some money with my electric guy over the past two years but he's been great and I've already completely filled the panel in the shop as I've grown. Any future shop will definitely be set up this way

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bsshog40

So they are here to put up the shop. Not anything like I imagined. This is pretty much a metal carport with doors and siding. The square tubing will be spaced 5' apart. Looks like I'll have a lot of work to put into it to make it a functional shop.

One of those inexpensive metal building deals I'm guessing?

There is one advantage to the metal building... When I went to insure my shop (1300sqft) I was denied by a few places because it's stick built like a house. Seems they prefer commercial buildings not be built out of wood since it's flammable and what not.

bsshog40

One of those inexpensive metal building deals I'm guessing?

There is one advantage to the metal building... When I went to insure my shop (1300sqft) I was denied by a few places because it's stick built like a house. Seems they prefer commercial buildings not be built out of wood since it's flammable and what not.