Neverthougt the difficult part would be...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

scjohnson243

Just for the record, I'm a computer geek by trade, a database administrator... When I decided to get into woodturning it was because I wanted to do something with my hands that didn't involve a keyboard.. I have always admired "artists" and wished I could do things like they do (You guys!)...

I have turned a few slimline pens, and the lathe work has been the most easy to grasp... The small things that make a lot of difference are KILLING me... after getting in from work I usualy spend an hour or two with the family while its still really hot outside (No AC in my shop yet!!) Last night I wanted to try an easy segment just cut a rosewood blank in half, and glue up a ebony piece in there... I literally spent 2 hours trying to cut a straight piece on my bandsaw... A few days before that I spent an hour trying to get a straight drill through my blank with my drill press (Which I solved by buying things for my lathe to drill)...

So, something is "off" on my bandsaw, I guess it has to do with my fence, but im not entirely sure... I will go home tonight and give it another try... and, if that doesn't work I'll move on to my miter saw, I guess...

ANYWAY.. Just needed to vent and where I work with a bunch of computer geeks they would not understand. :)

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
Go right to the miter saw and skip the band saw for now. You will need to tweak the band saw to make it perform and depending on your model it may not ever work well for straight cuts. You may also have to make a sled for it to even get close. IF you have a disc sander you could cut close to the line with the band saw and then sand it down straight. Be very careful cutting small angled pieces on a miter saw.
There are some articles on how to build sleds and how to tweak your band saw but you will need to do a search for them.

randyrls