Micro-Mesh - Soft Pad or regular backing?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

BigL

I'm new to this so I don't know what works best. Woodcraft sold me a micro-mesh kit with very small, padded, pieces (too small to call sheets). I see bigger sheets - 3x6 or larger - that come with a foam pad. What works best? More efficiently? Most cost effective? I would be grateful for any thoughts or suggestions. Thanks, Lane

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chigdon

I agree with using the sheets. I can't remember where I read this but use the sheets so that you can feel the heat generated while sanding so you will know if it gets too hot.

JimGo

Actually, MicroMesh recently introduced a set of padded pieces for regular materials too, not just the synthetics. If the MicroMesh you have is colored, then it's the synthetic material MicroMesh, which is great for those materials, but I haven't tried it on wood. If the MicroMesh pads you have are shades of grey, then that's the "standard" MicroMesh that most of us (even Frank!) use for woods.

The padded pieces obviate the need for the foam pad (which I keep misplacing). They are also double-sided, so although the pads are small, you're actually getting twice the amount of MicroMesh. You're still getting less total surface area than the 3"x6" sheets will give you, but the trade off may be worth it. The padding helps wick away some of the heat that occurs when sanding, and MicroMesh is notorious for not liking being heated. You can get the bigger pad and sheets and do the same thing, but then you have to keep track of the pad (not a trivial task, at least in my shop). I like the simplicity of it all being in one unit.