Longhorns

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Chasper

Chasper

I don't remember if I've mentioned it here before, but I raise longhorn cattle; minature longhorns. I raise them out in the garden, in a doghouse I converted into a barn. I've been raising them for several years. Last summer Romeo my bull died. Romeo was a foundation bull of the North American Minature Longhorn Association http://www.namlha.com/ he was a great bull, well built and strong, always ready for service. I have been looking for a way to remember Romeo for several months and tonight I made this bottle stopper from his horns. Now I'll remember him every time I open a wine bottle.

Attachments

• Longhorn.jpg
    Longhorn.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 249
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
That's a great idea, and a cool bottle opener.

Can you post a picture of one of your long horns?? When I was still living in Houston area, the road that ran from the freeway to my sub-div, also ran past the city dump... in an effort to beautify, there was a pasture in front of the dumps and they had about 20 head of the most beautiful longhorns... one especially had a tremendous spread on his horns... I never got out to take closer look, but I'm thinking they were well over 6 feet between tips.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Chasper (Gerry),

After you open the bottle, pour the glass, before your first sip, "Cheers, Romeo!!"

Nice opener!! (pun intended)

S

spiritwoodturner

Gerry,

You have WAYYYY too much time on your hands! I wish you lived closer to me, I'll bet I could find some way for you to burn some of that creative energy. Like walking my Dragon and mowing my forest...

Funny though!

Dale

Gerry,
I think the wild longhorns of old Texas also had a reputation of an attitude.. I heard that cowboys did NOT get off their horse in the presence of a long horn unless absolutely necessary and sometimes they charged the horses too.

OKLAHOMAN

Was it jackolope Murder?