How long do micro mesh finishing pads last?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Cartaphilus

I'm a relative newbie to acrylic pen making and I do my finishing with a standard 9 pad set of pads. How long can I expect to use a set and still get good results before I should replace them? Thanks...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

1080Wayne

I'm a relative newbie to acrylic pen making and I do my finishing with a standard 9 pad set of pads. How long can I expect to use a set and still get good results before I should replace them? Thanks...
Days to years depending upon how much love and attention you give them . If using them dry , won`t be too long . Use clean water with each pad , rinse off , store separately from other pads , in a pen kit bag , is what I do .

MRDucks2

Couple of things. If using on resin blanks always use wet with water. I didn't believe it would make a difference and was wrong. The polishing process is much better/quicker and the pads last longer.

If using on wood, I use dry and clean them regularly. I often blow them off with compressed air and wash them with water and a tooth brush on occasion. Some people throw them in the wash or dish washer.

If you just use them dry all the time they will not last as long.

Also, buy the packs that are the size of a 1/4 sheet of sandpaper and cut them into 4 equal pieces. Gives you 4 sets of micro mesh pads for about 20% more than the cost of a single set.

egnald