How do you examine your finish to see if it's good?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KMCloonan

I have a question That has probably been asked before, but a quick search did not turn up anything helpful.

I have been using a plain CA finish for many years - I don't really need to discuss methods of obtaining a good CA finish - my question is more about the light used to examine the finish. When I finish my pens, I do multiple (often around 10) coats of CA, I then wet sand with micromesh, and when I am done with that, I apply a plastic polish - I have been using Meguiar's PlastX polish. Sometimes I set up my buffer, but not very often. When the polish looks good on my lathe, I remove the blank, and take it over to my workbench for assembly. I have 5000 lumen LED shop lights in my shop.

When the pen is oriented with the shop light (parallel to the light), the finish looks ok. When I turn the pen 90 degrees, perpendicular to the light, the finish often looks awful, like some 8 year old with mayonnaise all over their hands handled the pen. It looks like smears, smudges, whatever. Ok, I may be exaggerating slightly, but it seems like I am putting the pen back on the lathe a lot more often, and re-doing the micromesh, focusing on sanding lengthwise along the blank, and repeating the polishing. I think it's only been recently that I noticed the finish in the perpendicular light. Maybe I was just ignorantly happy with my finish before.

Anyway, any tips for examining your finish?

Thanks,
Kevin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Todd in PA

Same method for me. Parallel from my eye to the overhead light in my shop. Angled to where the white reflection is the widest, and I'm looking at the white reflection, not the pen.