Hi from Little Rock

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BSea

I'm just getting started in the hobby. I guess I needed something to do when it's cold outside, and nothing my wife suggested sound like a hobby. :eek:

My garage is my shop, and I've done some basic woodworking, but I haven't used a lathe in many years. In fact I still haven't purchased mine yet, and that's what lead me to this forum. I'm doing my homework on what to look for, how to do things, etc.

I hope I don't ask too many boring questions, and I PROMISE to search before asking.

Bob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Welcome from Japan. Lots of information here.

1. Get familiar with Harbor Freight (HF), you have one near you and I have made purchases there. :biggrin:

2. Many people look for an inexpensive lathe to get started. I will recommend looking for a lathe with an MT2 (# 2Morse Taper). #1MTs work fine and if the price is right, then that will do well. However, MT2 lathes have the most options available if you decide to expand and really get into turning pens and small bowls. Jet, Rikkon, Delta, Grizzly, PSI have lathes at different prices. HF has some lathes that are dependable and cheap, but others steer away from them as quality is IFFY.

3. New wood lathes come with a tail stock live center for turning wood. This does not fit correctly in a mandrel and "will" work but there will be resulting problems. The best thing is to go ahead and look for and get a 60° live center for the tail stock. There are two methods of turning pens - Turning Between Centers (TBC - which is more precise overall) and with mandrels - which is how most people start.

4. Tools - cheap to learn with or expensive chisels - either way begin with an attitude that SHARP is a constant necessity. Don't buy a tool until you have a method of sharpening within quick reach of the lathe.