Help identifying broken mechanical pencil component

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DanP

I'll preface this by saying I have no knowledge of penturning. Neither do I know if I'm in the right place – but you seem a competent bunch, so I'm hoping you'll help me out!

I was gifted a handmade mechanical pencil that I have unfortunately now dropped, breaking the inside mechanism (premade and manufactured). The cone is no longer screwed in place, meaning that when I push the button, the cone extends and retracts with the spring.

F2B02795-4ADA-42A2-A150-2B98E95D1693.jpeg

I think I have identified the problem. As you can see in the zoomed in picture, the bit that the cone screws unto has broken off the shaft, meaning the cone can no longer be screwed in place.

I hope to fix this pencil but because of my ignorance I don't know where to start. This pencil was bought at a crafts market at a woodworking stand, so I should in theory be able to replace the pencil insides with new components.

Does anyone recognize the kit and/or components used?

I'll be grateful for any help!

EC82C205-3AB6-4B8E-BC21-50C79BFB2C5C.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DanP

I see the similarities but not an exact match no, darn! I will have to continue searching.

DanP

That looks like a Slimline kit. They are offered through a few different vendors.
Is there another piece, perhaps, still inside the pen. Looks kind of like a hex nut.

It looks very similar to that one – they both even have the dark feature on the clip, although the end of my clip is rounded.

I haven't been able to locate any other parts than on my photo, except the components glued down on the wood (tubes etc).

I did some digging into the Christmas market I went to and I found a list of vendors. I might have located the maker, and I will contact him!

monophoto

Don't think it was a redressed Pentel. Looks very much like PSI's Slimline Pro Kit. If that's what is is, there should be a black inlay on the clip.