First Pens Ever

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctfolmar

With everybody else in the family making pens, I figured I would get in on the action. So I started with polymer clay blanks since I have no experience with a lathe. All I had to do is sand them and put a shine on them. I am thrilled with how they turned out on my first try at finishing and assembling pens. These were all Christmas gifts so I spent an afternoon and did them all at once. Kathy made some beautiful blanks and they really turned out great. I can't wait to make more. Jason said this was addictive, he was so right.

Attachments

• 100_1710.jpg
    100_1710.jpg
    138.2 KB · Views: 415
  • 100_1711.jpg
    100_1711.jpg
    144.3 KB · Views: 327
  • 100_4587.jpg
    100_4587.jpg
    159.9 KB · Views: 320
  • 100_4591.jpg
    100_4591.jpg
    139.4 KB · Views: 349
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russknan

Very nice start! Now, get those family members to tutor you on the lathe. Why should they keep the obsession to themselves? Russ

plantman

:RockOn: Very, very, very nice work. You have a good start and should go far in pen making. Polymer Clay is a good an low cost way to get into pen making. Enjoy!!! Jim S

flyitfast

Great job on the pens. I haven't tried the PC blanks yet, but you have convinced me that I should.
I like your variety of pens - good selection.of blanks.
Notice you live in San Antonio. - come join us at the Alamo Penturners meeting on the 2nd of Jan. at Woodcraft at 6:30pm. Bring some of your pens for us to enjoy.
Gordon

ctfolmar

I'd like to thank everyone for the kind words. It's great to know people I don't even know like them. I plan to stick with it and hopefully improve. Thanks again.

wildbill23c

Banned
How hard is it to turn acrylic blanks on a lathe? Any difference than making pens from wood in the insertion of the brass tubes, and tools required?

Lashaby