Finishing Acrylics Complex Shapes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gwlundgren

I'm relatively new to turning acrylics/plastics.

I've kept my acrylics shapes fairly simple due to the difficulty of getting them smooth and shiny.

Working with the little square wet sanding pads can leave grooves, lines, and ruts in the shapes.

Is there a way to get these smoother?

Thanks! Gary

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
sanding

I've kept my acrylics shapes fairly simple due to the difficulty of getting them smooth and shiny.

Working with the little square wet sanding pads can leave grooves, lines, and ruts in the shapes.

Thanks! Gary
after sanding with the lathe on, turn it off and sand lenthways then repete with a finer grit same way. do that with all grits I turn coran and sant to 12,000 grit. ps; lite though through all grits.

1080Wayne

Those who are expert at using a sharp skew seldom need to start lower than 400 grit , so some practice may be in order . Also best , as you have apparently done , to keep to simple curves . Forget the beads and coves , unless you like to punish yourself . Wood or plastics , I think the same rules apply .

KenV

Gary, I do not especially like to sand and polish, but find in my turning that I can often spend as much or more time getting to the final finish after finishing with the cutting tools. Sometimes with long detailed finials it takes special care and a long time to get the sanding and polishing done.

A very sharp edge applied with precision and skill (read practice and experience) lets the abrasives start with higher numbers, with fewer bumps and ridges to remove.

Slow down the lathe (counter intuitive right) and apply the abrasive with light pressure. Let the abrasive do the work. Clean after each grit, and never skip a grit. Learning, use the factor of about 1.5 and not more than 2.0. That is, starting at 120, next would be 180, then 320, I go with 400, 600, 1000, 2000, 4000 and then polishes