Drying Prior to Stabilization

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Harpazo

First off, I'm new to casting and stabilizing but I'm working on gathering wood and equipment in order to begin. I have a supply of spalted and ambrosia maple that I'm cutting and drying and thought others might enjoy hearing how I'm going about this. Constructive criticism welcome!

After I cut my wood to size (all under 1.5" thick) I place it in my Excalibur food dehydrator for 24 hours at the hottest setting (165F but that's a whole 'nuther discussion) After 24 hours the wood should all be reading well under 10% moisture. I assume closer to 3 or 4% or less. At this point I'm vacuum sealing the hot blanks straight out of the dehydrator and into the vacuum ziplock style bags for temporary storage. The bags can handle boiling water so that should be fine to let them just cool down there. They'll stay nice and dry inside.

Then, just prior to juicing them with Cactus Juice I will pre-heat the blanks to boiling temp to off-gas the last remaining moisture, wait to cool down then submerge in the vacuum chamber for the recommended time, bake them in a toaster oven or maybe in the dehydrator if it will get hot enough to cure the resin. Like I said, I'm totally new to this and might be getting it wrong but there ya' go...

MesquiteMan

Retired Head Moderator
It looks like it will be fine. Maybe a little more work than necessary. Preheating to boiling temp in the second paragraph--you don't mention how long-- will probably not do much for you unless you do it for many hours. In this case, it would be easier to just put the blanks in the toaster oven at 215° F for 24 hrs and be done with it. Then take them out and place them in ziplock bags to cool down.

I doubt the dehydrator will get hot enough to cure. The minimum internal temp of the blanks needs to be 180° F. I usually recommend an air temp in the oven of 200° F.

Harpazo