Deer Antler Tips

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Steve68

Hello all,

I just picked up some deer antler for pen blanks for the first time, but I've never worked with it before so I'm not exactly sure what to expect (other than the smell when turning!) . Any tips for an Antler newbie?

Most of my tools as HSS - I assume they will dull quickly on the antler?
Is there a finishing process for antler?

Thanks in advanced for any tips!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mecompco

There are some YT videos on it. I have a thread over in blank making forum about turning antler, as well as a thread in the metal lathes forum. I've only turned it once so far but got some good advice in those threads.

You should wear a respirator--antler/bone dust is very bad for you. My piece was very soft under the "skin". I couldn't even sand it 'til it was well slathered with CA. It turned easily, though bear in mind that I use a metal cutter bit on my metal lathe, so YM will probably V.

After getting enough CA on it to finally fill the pores, I sanded as normal and finished with CA/BLO. It came out pretty good, I think.

Last edited:

Steve68

Thank you, that's good advice. Wasn't expecting it to be soft underneath - but it makes sense now, though. I'll check out the threads you mentioned too.

Thanks!!!

wyone

Be SAFE with the respirator.. if you smell it.. you need a better respirator.

Drilling the tube hole can be tough... it is not easy to hold. there are videos on that as well.

It will take a lot of CA, but the results are great! have fun with it!

Akula

Hello all,

I just picked up some deer antler for pen blanks for the first time, but I've never worked with it before so I'm not exactly sure what to expect (other than the smell when turning!) . Any tips for an Antler newbie?

Most of my tools as HSS - I assume they will dull quickly on the antler?
Is there a finishing process for antler?

Thanks in advanced for any tips!!