closed end help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RAdams

Banned
So i am new to this whole closed end thing. Soon, i am going to make my forst ever closed end fountain, but first, i would like to test my skills doing a closed end RB of the same kit. I am going to use the Classic American kit from woodcraft (it is what i already have on hand).

I am guessing the drill depth in the body has to be pretty accurate for the refill to work properly? how do you guys do this? tape on the drill bit? or is there a more accurate way?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mickr

yes you can measure accurately enough with tape on a drill bit...go to arizona sihlouette...he has a dvd on the process..you'll understand immediately what the process is

cnirenberg

Ron,
What I have done is measure the length of the finished kit and then go from there. I use a depth gauge and then mark the appropriate length on the drill bit with a sharpie (my depth scale has peeled off of the tailstock, and I'm apparently too lazy to replace with a suitable alternative). Take it easy when drilling out the blank, you don't want the blank to get too hot and crack. Take Mickr's advise and check out AS, possibly get a closed end mandrel to help.

As far as the length of the barrel, it's up to you. Too short, the spring will have to be modified and will be tight when assembling and on the refill tip itself. Too long, and you will have to deal with the refill bouncing around inside.

its_virgil

You may find a couple of closed end pen articles helpful that I;ve written . Thay are available at http://www.RedRiverPens.com/articles
Good luck. They are fiun to make and you'll like the results of yuour efforts. Do a good turn daily!
Don