CA & BLO - sploches

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mdwilliams999

I have been using BLO & CA for the last 2-3 months with average results and after some more research on this forum and others I realized my problem. Basically I was putting on way to little CA (literally 1-2 drops per side) and then rubbing so hard that I was probably rubbing it back off. I was doing this about 5-7 times but obviously not building up...just rubbing it off.

So last night I did a red mallee burl and was very generous with the CA and did not get overly worried about it being perfect (meaning no ripples), then added BLO, then CA, then BLO etc. After adding the CA, I would do a quick pass with accelerator as the BLO wasn't enough to dry the CA. I finished off with micro-mesh sanding to get a great smooth finish and then one last application of BLO and CA (I used very little) and then buffed it out. Last night the pen looked great.

Tonight, I went out and added some wax and then took it off the mandrel to press it together and realized that I had small blotches all over the pen. It looks almost like small areas where maybe the layers didn't adhere to one another. Not sure what exactly happened.

I did two stabalized curly mangos this way and they came out really nice.

Any help or advise would be appreciated.

Mike

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

okiebugg

BLO with CA

I have been using BLO & CA for the last 2-3 months with average results and after some more research on this forum and others I realized my problem. Basically I was putting on way to little CA (literally 1-2 drops per side) and then rubbing so hard that I was probably rubbing it back off. I was doing this about 5-7 times but obviously not building up...just rubbing it off.