CA accelerant

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brh

I am a complete novice, only taken delivery of my first lathe last week. So I have been reading posts, reading tutorials, watching videos and practicing with cheap kits before I venture into more expensive terretory. After much experimenting, I think I have arrived at a pretty good finishing regimen, but I know that my finishes can be improved. I'm aware of the adage that if you ask 10 turners how to do something, you will get 15 answers. Some turners use CA accelerant in finishing, others not. Right now, I'm more mystified about the "whys" than the "hows." So those of you in the accellerator camp, I'd like to hear why you find it advantageous. And conversely, those who find it unneccessary, what are your thoughts? Thank you for your insights.

Regards,
Brian

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

djncas

I use it because My shop is in my basement and it contains moisture, flash time for the CA in winter is slow ,so I use the accelerator. It cuts flash (drying) time way down. In the summer I usually don't need to use it, its about 1 minute between flash times. If you want to make time between finish and end assembly then use it. If you are taking your time and live in a high humidity area I would not worry about it. Experiment with it see what works best for you.

Rodnall

I live in a high humidity area and after reading some posts about what's my hurry and how much better not using accelerant is I tried not using accelerant. After 2 days to finish 2 pens, redoing them a couple times each because the were cloudy when I finished them I went back to accelerant. I have found that I don't need it on the first coat on wood and I only need every 2nd application of CA glue. The CA glue also
goes on in thicker coats after using accelerant.
Rod

leehljp

Member Liaison