Brittle blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dorno

I am currently making my blanks with clear polyester casting resin and my blank seem to be very very brittle . Does antone out there know how to make them less brittle is there a little trick or something else I can put in to make my blanks less brittle.
I am using aroung 9 drops of hardener per 25ml which works out to about 22 drops per blank. Is this right or can I do something else to soften them.

Thanks Ian

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lorbay

I would think you are putting too much hardener in. On a single cast blank (about 1 oz) I am putting 4 drops in. I am no expert as I am learning also so I am sure some of my teachers on here will chime in.

Lin

ldb2000

4 drops per ounce will soften up the PR and make it less brittle , also don't post cure your blanks (if you are) . Too much heat will also make the blanks more brittle
Or you could also practice up on your turning and learn to work with them . The most brittle blanks also shine like glass when polished . Inlace blanks are a perfect example of this . I normally add 10 drops per ounce and will on occasion add as much as 20 drops per ounce for special pens .
A very sharp skew and feather light cuts and they turn well with no chipping . The main thing is don't rush it while turning .

Dorno

in that case I am using far to much hardener and will cut it by at least half and see how it goes from there.
I am keen to see how it all works I have been frustrated beyond belief.

Thanks Ian

JohnU