Bought a new D-Way 1” Skew

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MRDucks2

Okay, I admit I have been deciding on a new skew for about 2 years now. Hate to rush into a decision.

I decided on and purchased one from D-Way. I chose his 1" skew he calls a "medium" to ultimately replace my original Harbor Freight 3/4" that I have been using for about 5 years now. Nothing wrong with the HF skew other than the repaired handle and slight bend at the base of the shank. Just felt I was ready to try something a bit more robust.

I am pleased with the D-Way. It shaves wood right now with original sharpening on it. The level of finish on the turned wood is amazing and something that was difficult to achieved even with a freshly sharpened HF HSS version.

I had sharpened the HF skew to a new profile based on what Alan Lacer recommends and it was a big improvement over the original shape/grind.

My perception was when Dave indicated he used a "parabolic" edge on his skews it was the same as Alan referred to but it isn't quite. Alan uses a shape in which the first third from the long edge is gentler, nearly straight then eases into the curve. Dave's is more of a true parabola that curves across the entire surface.

As such, it does drive a bit differently. But in practicing on a maple blank it honest to goodness looked like it had been sanded and finished once I got a feel for it. I had gotten smooth with the HF skew but nothing like that.

Now I need to practice more. Being a thicker tool it has a longer bevel I am still getting used to. Still figuring out how to get it consistent all the way through concave curves. I do wonder why I waited 2 years now.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

greenacres2

I love it when a plan comes together! Glad it was a good buy for you. Is the factory grind flat or hollow? Reading your description sounds like the parabolic edge might have a bit more forgiveness…is that your feel?
Thanks,
Earl

TonyL