Another Manager, this time a fountain pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Hippie3180

Hippie3180

This is my latest make, I love the blank, but feel underwhelmed by the pen kit. I ordered several of them and while they aren't terrible, I feel they are lacking in heft and it's disappointing that the threads don't allow the barrels to align the pattern. I will be turning my attention to kitless soon, I feel I will have more control over elements such as heft, design, quality and thread alignment + I'm just excited to learn something new.

black and white founain pen 2.jpg

Attachments

• Black and white manager fountain pen.jpg
    Black and white manager fountain pen.jpg
    60.5 KB · Views: 49
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

Although I have no experience with the Manager kit, I learned that the grain or pattern can be matched up on almost any rollerball and fountain pen. The basics can be found in a video by Ed Brown from Exotic Blanks. His video is for a Junior Harold, but I have found the procedure works with virtually every kit I have made that has a screw on cap. Here is a link to Ed's Video: Assemble Junior Series from ExoticBlanks.com.

Even though the pattern gets matched up at assembly like in Ed's video, the caveat I have found is that the customer/end user does not understand how multi-start threads work. Most pens have three or four start threads but only one "start" will cause the pattern to match up when the cap is screwed all the way on. The solution is to carefully unscrew the cap until a different start position is reached. It is usually easy to feel and often there is a little "click" noise. The cap is then screwed back on. The process is repeated until the proper "start" is reached and the pattern matches up when the cap is installed.

Your pen is Gorgeous. The white looks like it has some opalescent quality. - Dave

Hippie3180