Am I buying the right stuff for Kitless pen making?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ColeCadorette

Hello everyone!

This is my first post in this forum. And from what I've seen I'm super excited for this discussion.

I'm looking to get into kitless pen making. I've made a few slimlines at my local makerspace but I've always adored fountain pens so I want to make my own (.........cuz I can't afford the number of montblancs I want). I have very little experience but i don't mind doing my research and taking on a challenge.

So I know the topic of "what do I need to go kitless" has been rehashed many a time but I've not seen many with specifically what combo of tools to buy. From my reading I've figured out I probably need the items in this list:

But I'm not sure if all these tools are exactly what I need or even work together and before I drop that amount of money I'd like to get a second opinion.

So is this list complete? Are there better or cheaper alternatives? Where can I save money?

Note I've gone with amazon mostly because I have prime and one day shipping makes everything better lol but if you know any other sources that are cheaper pls let me know.

Also I left out the dies I plan to model the pen this week in a CAD package and make those decisions then.

Thanks for any help you can provide

Cole Cadorette

magpens

Hi Cole !!! . Warm welcome to IAP !!! 😀

My first thought would be to upgrade to a metal-working lathe.
Since you are so keen on kitless pen-making, and fountain pens in particular, I think you would find that worthwhile.
You could check with other members here, and not just take my word for it.
An additional $100 to $150 CDN should do it.

And do you want to save some money on another item that I noticed ?
You don't need to spend so much on tap and die holder. . You have "overspent" on those.
For the die holder, go to an IAP member with user-name "rherrell" (that's Rick Herrell). . He makes/sells an excellent die holder for much less.