Nibs

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

snmhanson

I have been turning pens for a couple months now and my efforts include a few fountain pens. When they write well I really like them. However, it seems that most of them dispense quite a bit of ink and the result is thick lines and sloppy writing. I understand many people here replace the fountain nibs right off the bat and I should probably take that route as well. However, is there something else I am doing or not doing that could be causing the issue? Or should I just not worry about it and get some new nibs? I would prefer a line on the thinner and more delicate side. Should I opt for a fine nib? What do most people prefer? The pens in question are generally Majestic Juniors, though I have since bought some Jr. Statesmen and Jr. Gentlmen that I am going to be turning in the next few weeks. If new nibs are in order I would like to buy several and stock up.

Thanks!

Matt

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

glycerine

I would suggest just replacing the nib, BUT you could probably tune the stock nib and be ok with it. I would say get a fine or extra fine (if anyone actually carries the extra fine...) and see how you like them. I personally prefer Bock nibs and there are several vendors on here who can provide them. Or if you REALLY want to stock up, you can order them straight from Bock, but you're looking at a substantial cost up front due to minimum order quanities...

PenMan1

You may want to start by just exchanging the "stock" ink that comes with the component set for a better grade of ink. My experience has been that the stock inks cause exactly the problems you describe.

Personally, I like the Velvet Black International cartridges from Private Reserve. Others will have different opinions.