Knife maker, future pen maker from TX

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Travis Fry

I've been making knives for about 6 years, and am planning to start making pens soon. There is a lot of overlap with materials and equipment and, in my case, interest, so it seems like a natural fit. Need to sell a few more knives so I can get a lathe....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Big

Welcome from a new pen turner in Pensacola, FL. I seriously thought about making knives.

BJohn

Welcome from Arkansas, I do believe you are from around Houston. A stone throw from Waco.

For a ton more help and a great time. SWAT is in Waco, starts two weeks from tomorrow. Here is a link to the web page. Home

There will also be a pen turners special interest group meeting Friday evening.

Kenny Durrant

BJohn must have one heck of an arm. Austin is a 2 hour drive depending on speed and traffic. I agree with you Travis there is an overlap in materials. I get quite a bit of my blanks and other things for segmenting from a knife supplier.

stonepecker

Welcome from Minnesota.

Do you have an interest in building a few knives for me? I would supply you with the wood and general shape I would like.
Basic hunting knives is what I am thinking.

Always willing to help someone get a tool. Save your nickles and get a good one.

Last edited:

Travis Fry

Welcome from Minnesota.

Do you have an interest in building a few knives for me? I would supply you with the wood and general shape I would like.
Basic hunting knives is what I am thinking.

Always willing to help someone get a tool. Save your nickles and get a good one.

I prefer not to take custom orders because then my hobby feels like work. I like to work at my own pace on what I feel like working on so that it stays interesting. Currently, everything I make is sold through my mailing list, which can be signed up for on my website. The link is in my sig line.

Thanks for your interest!

rrumohr1