Drilling a pepper mill

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from InvisibleMan

InvisibleMan

So how long should it take to drill a 7" pepper mill body? I'm in the middle of drilling my first one. This is my first time using forstner bits, so wasn't sure what to expect. I'm not sure I like it.

Drilling on the lathe at 500 RPM (slowest mine goes). I'm going very slow and extracting the bit fairly often to eject dust and chip buildup. The bit and wood get VERY hot VERY fast, so I've given it a good break from time-to-time, cutting pen blanks to kill time. I think I see smoke inside the hole:eek:.

Is this normal? Should I set aside a few hours to drill one of these things? Is the heat buildup not such a big deal with these things? My jacobs chuck even got hot! This is red palm by the way.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
I can send you a tutorial (free) if you PM me your email address (offer open to all).

It will advise you to turn your blank round, first, then drill using a scroll chuck to hold in place.

To answer your question--drilling red palm IS going to take a while and, yes it WILL get HOT!! If you sharpen the bit before you start, it will take a LITTLE less time, but smoke is unavoidable, I think.

Sounds like it will be a good looking mill---don't forget pictures when you are finished!!!

InvisibleMan

I can send you a tutorial (free) if you PM me your email address (offer open to all).

It will advise you to turn your blank round, first, then drill using a scroll chuck to hold in place.

To answer your question--drilling red palm IS going to take a while and, yes it WILL get HOT!! If you sharpen the bit before you start, it will take a LITTLE less time, but smoke is unavoidable, I think.

Sounds like it will be a good looking mill---don't forget pictures when you are finished!!!