California Bay Laurel #2

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from kludge77

kludge77

This is bowl #4 for me and the first one with NO CATCHES.

I took this as proof that I had turned it, in case my luck didn't hold and I dropped it on the way to it's oil bath.
Bowl_4001.jpg

It measures 7 3/4 wide x 2 1/2 high

Bowl_4003.jpg

Bowl_4004.jpg

Bowl_4005.jpg

Bowl_4006.jpg

C&C alway welcome and needed. I would like to get better at this. Thanks. I've got a dried chunk of walnut waiting for me this weekend...

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rkimery

Passed Away May 3, 2022
In Memoriam
Nice chunk of wood Pete. Same question as Jon, how might you keep the knot from dropping out or cracking along the grain there? I am a self taught pen turner and I really want to get into bowl turning myself!

Great job with this and good luck with the Walnut bowl piece. Sharpen those gouges first, and just take your time....

kludge77

Thanks!

The piece is actually very stable. It had a few cracks from drying too fast but I filled with CA and it turned nicely.

My main issues with bowls in the inside curve. Once I get that everything else is much simpler. I'm still rubbish with the bowl gouge and all the hollowing on this one was done with a scraper. I'm starting to enjoy scraping. Still I'll try the gouge on the next piece.

rkimery

Passed Away May 3, 2022
In Memoriam
I use a large gouge, a Spindle Master (really sort of a scraper and nearly a skew!) and a round scraper on all of my pens. I like scraping too.