Brass tubes coming out after in tube casting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sdivot

I'm very new to in-tube casting, and now I am having a new problem...
I am attempting to make stamp castings and also the steampunk-type casts using aluminum and copper tape. After I have cast the pieces, I use a barrel trimmer on the ends. The last two I've done (both stamps and the aluminum/copper tapes) had the tubes come loose and spin inside the casting. The tube sticks to the barrel trimmer and sometimes comes right out on the trimmer. The barrel trimmer is a tight fit, but it is the correct size for the tubes. Even so, I don't think this should be happening.
Anyone have any idea why this is happening? The stamps I'm using are new ones, taken right off the sheet and stuck onto the tube. And of course the tape I'm using is just stuck to the tube as well.
Could it be the adhesive on these items will just not hold onto the tube well enough? If that's the case, any suggestions?
I wish I had marked the ones I've made with PR and the ones with Alumilite. I'm using both, and if I remember correctly, this is happening with both.
Any suggestions? Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Couple options Steven...ream out the tube with a round file for a looser fit with the barrel trimmer. Or...use a disc sander to "trim" your tube...arguments on either side. I'd also look at your prep of the tube and if the blank cured completely.
Hope that helps!!

sdivot

Thanks for the reply Jim. I wonder if I should do something to the brass tube before sticking on my stamp/tapes. Maybe paint it and let it cure for several days. I do scuff them a bit, but perhaps the brass is too slick of a surface.

My other problem of course is bubbles. Very frustrating. I have a vacuum pot, but I think I should have bought a pressure pot instead. I've had a few successes, but more failures.