PR not curing.....need advice!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wizical

I am fairly new to the casting world and having a total blast making blanks! but I have run into an issue that I hope someone can help me with.

what is the proper mixture of PR to Catalyst. what does everyone use to make sure their mixes cure properly?

can the sun help the curing process?

Thanks....any advice would be greatly appreciated

Cheers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PSNCO

3-5 drops per ounce. How long has it been since you poured the blank? Are you Using Silmar 41 or Castin' Craft? Put it in the sun on a warm day and it should help quite a bit.

Is it a colored blank? What did you use to color it?

Skie_M

If I read the stuff in the forums right, it WILL cure without catalyst ... just that the catalyst helps it go a LOT faster. Without it, you will probably be waiting 3 - 4 months?

Warmer helps .... you could possibly set it in a toaster oven set at 150, but that could be asking for trouble... especially left on for extended periods.

Now .... left on top the fridge in your garage under a cardboard box with insulation around it (or a styrofoam cooler left upside down to keep the hot air in) .... that would be much safer.

PSNCO

How many ounce pour?

Did you put in a lot of dye? Too much dye can mess with the curing process.

Do you remember putting in the MEKP? and how many drops per ounce?

It should be plenty warm enough in LA.

chartle

Do you mean not hardening at all?

I've had blanks with too much dye in them take days to fully cure and then sometimes the ends were still feel tacky.

I've done 9 per oz but have cut back to 4 to 5 and my blanks have all cured.

Last edited:

wizical

I will try all of these tips.....maybe I used too much dye, that could be part of the problem

I have been using 7 drops per ounce

I am still experimenting with it all.....thanks

79spitfire