Classifieds Overhaul

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
Greetings,

For the last 6 months, the management team has been working hard on a complete overhaul of the Buy, Sell, & Swap section of the forum. Before that, Curtis and I had been working on various concepts for almost two years. Later today you'll get to see the new structure and rules, ask questions, and provide your feedback. Buy, Sell, and Swap will close to new ads on Sept 28, and the new "IAP Department of Commerce" (DOC) will open on Oct 1.

Our existing classifieds section has been operating essentially unchanged since 2004. While it has served the purpose of draining our wallets and filling out shops with the tools, kits, and supplies we can't live without, that section of our site has not been without problems. If you've been around the site for a few years, you're probably well aware of some of the issues and annoyances.

The main goals of the new DOC are to confine advertising and marketing to a single section of the forum, streamline the process of buying and selling, and encourage sellers to make more judicious and efficient use of the resource we're providing.

One change that you will immediately notice is that there is a cost associated with using two of the new forums; Classifieds, and Premium Classifieds. One of the reasons for the clutter in the existing classifieds is that there is no incentive for sellers to make careful use of the service we're providing. The cost is extremely small relative to the revenue most sales generate, and the income will help make the IAP a stronger organization and allow us to undertake some exciting new projects.