X-Acto handles

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from JasonC

JasonC

I made an X-Acto handle for myself. Years ago I bought an off-brand X-acto that had a simple plastic/rubber sleeve. After years of use it had become warped from compression when tightening the knife blade into the collet.

So I grabbed a piece of Amboyna burl and got to work.
1520746_4192206700733_6306892238565052419_n.jpg

10157157_4192206500728_7138033464622094898_n.jpg

Also tried a segmented X-Acto from curly Koa and an acrylic - Solar Flare, I think it's called.
10267773_4225821021070_6318448364635897247_n.jpg

I then had a guy contact me, saying his father has been a modeler for over 30 years and he'd like to have me make an X-Acto knife for him. He wanted the same material - Amboyna burl. Since I've been a modeler for years as well, I told him I thought a set would be the way to go. One for the small, light duty stuff and another for larger tasks. I showed him images of all four sides of my Amboyna blanks and let him pick the two he wanted.

Here's what I made.
1424448_4235917633479_8985760097944546843_n.jpg

10171834_4235917753482_4241994406780519800_n.jpg

10253783_4235918033489_4815302275939214731_n.jpg

10150533_4235918313496_2623538178200025100_n.jpg

10152424_4235919073515_7484679637362986277_n.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BSea

Those are very cool. I've made a few of those myself, but never with amboyna. I need to make a few more. I've used one for a few years in my shop. It's covered in CA, and hardened pr room pouring blanks. So for me, doing one with anything like amboyna is out of the question.

Yours are beautiful. :good:

Old Codger

Awesome Jason!!! I continuously amazed at the variety of options turners come up with for projects. Your idea is one I'll 'file away' for later use as I'm sure many other turners will... Thanks for sharing and safe turning to you and yours!

JasonC

Thanks, guys.