Where to get quality blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Knightmedic

Hi, I'm relatively new to pen making and I was wondering where are some good places to source quality pen blanks. I have been looking for dyed and stabilized burl and have not been satisfied with what I have gotten from places like Penn State and Exotic blanks. I'm sure most of you have seen Silver Meister's videos on YouTube, I have yet to find anything as beautiful as the wood he uses to make his blanks from. Any suggestions as to where I can find high quality well made blanks or pieces to make blanks from?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred Bruche

If you are on Facebook, there are several private groups where you can find such blanks. Burls, Swirls & Curls (Jesse Ullrich Gilbert sells nice pieces and has a lot of inventory) is one, also What The Blank Auctions - Woodworking Supplies (I bought many pieces from Jason Geer). And probably others I'm not part of.
Most of the blanks are made for duck calls and such, they are typically 1.5"x1.5"x6" so that gets you 4 pen blanks per block :)

Last edited:

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
If you are looking for great wood, go to wood vendors. I have not used them, but I have seen many pens from Cook Woods and many others. Their inventory changes often--use google and browse their current offerings.

Exotics resells wood blanks from PSI and some others.

Our emphasis is on hand-made from several individuals and commercial acrylic and resin blanks at many price and quality levels---yes I have a preference for Italian acrylics, but not everyone wants higher quality accompanied by a higher price. We sell a tremendous number of "economy" pen blanks that make 'nice" (not exceptional) pens.

We try to please MOST of the people, as often as possible. Shop carefully and you can find material for exceptional pens, but the blanks are more expensive than our cheapest choices.

jttheclockman