Where do I go from here.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tbfoto

So, I made this blank last night. I want to be sure to drill it straight down the center but not quite sure how to go about it. I don't feel confident in simply holding it in a clamp and drilling down on it with the drill press. So can I drill slightly on each end then set this between centers to get it round then put in jaws and drill on the lathe? Does this sound ok? I've never tried it like that before.

Attachments

• IMG_5263.jpg
    IMG_5263.jpg
    26.4 KB · Views: 286
  • IMG_5262.jpg
    IMG_5262.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 311
  • IMG_5261.jpg
    IMG_5261.jpg
    61.5 KB · Views: 339
  • IMG_5260.jpg
    IMG_5260.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 295
  • IMG_5266.jpg
    IMG_5266.jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 299
  • IMG_5272.jpg
    IMG_5272.jpg
    30.3 KB · Views: 324
  • IMG_5267.jpg
    IMG_5267.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 305
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lucky2

I don't quite understand your question, seeing as how you've already drilled each piece. If you were to set each piece in the drill jig you have made, and were to drill each one the size of hole they need. You could then stack and glue them together, on the proper sized brass tube for the pen. I don't understand why you would drill each piece like you did, I would stack and glue them together and then drill through the blank.

Len

chartle

Did you glue them all on to the wood dowel? If so I have no idea.

I'm in the process of making some blanks like this and I drill a 1/4" hole in each one and glue them up on a smooth bolt. I can then slip it onto my mandrel and turn it round. Now I can drill it to any size inside using my pen jaws on my chuck.

You could have also done as Len says and drilled them to the tube size and glued then directly to the tube.

chartle

You maybe able to save it if you can turn it round between centers but then you would still need to use a pen chuck to center your hole.